How to Get a Job in Advertising

27Feb09

dilbertadvtg_0

I spent all day today at the 27th Annual Chicago Advertising Federation Career Day – and the better part of the past three months planning for it. Career Day, for those of you who don’t know, is an opportunity for college students to interact with advertising professionals and get a taste of what it’s like to work in this crazy business. Having attended the event as a college senior, I have volunteered ever since and keep it as one of my top extracurricular priorities in the ad world.

Spending a day with the enthusiastic, bright-eyed students reminds me why I love this business. Despite the bleak outlook for jobs, agencies and the overall economy, the students I met today seemed overwhelmingly positive. Sure, everyone’s burning question centered somewhere around: ‘Are you guys hiring?’ And I’d bet my allowance they heard a resounding ‘No’ from everyone they asked. Even so, I wanted to get them a little something to latch on to.

So, I dug into the archives of bad decisions I have made in the past for a lesson or two I could share. I didn’t have someone willing to share the blunders and ‘huh?!’ moments that are so common during the awkward stage between the safe confines of Academia and the cold, harsh reality of The Real World. If I couldn’t offer a job, I could at least offer some good advice, right?

Here goes…

  • Internships, internships, internships. The task to secure an internship may seem daunting at first, but remember to broaden your horizons to other cities, not just the one you’re closest to. Internships are basically really long job interviews. And there’s nothing quite like them after college, so go for it. And when you do get one, work your ass off. It’s your chance to knock the socks off the team, and show them every single day why they should hire you.
  • Make friends. You never know where your first ‘break’ is going to come from, so meet as many people as you can and foster relationships with every single one of them. One good way to get face time in an agency if you don’t have an internship is through informational interviews. Ask someone if you can have 15 minutes of their time – and I’d be willing to bet they would be happy to help you. Yes, we’re all busy, but we also all know what it’s like to need a little guidance when you’re just starting out. And after the interview, don’t let it fall off from there. Keep in touch with your new contact. Send her an article that reminds you of your conversation, her client, her agency or even one of her competitors. Not only does that make you smarter, it shows her you’re interested in fostering a relationship and you’re serious about the company.
  • Stand out from the crowd. It’s sort of a cliche, but it’s really important to be memorable. With hundreds of candidates passing through the agency, you want them to remember you. While it’s not the easiest task, it’s also far from hard. You know yourself best. Find a strength, a unique characteristic or something special you can offer the agency. And think of yourself in their shoes. If you’re looking at resume all day, what’s going to make you do a double take?
  • Never say never. When I first graduated, I was all starry-eyed about the big agencies, with the fancy names, fancy locations and fancy offices. And while all of the above is nice, it’s not required for a first job or any job for that matter. I was so focused on working at one of the ‘top’ agencies on my list, I didn’t even give the hundreds of others out there a chance. Who knows where I would have ended up in my career or geographically speaking if I wasn’t so close-minded. Remember, once you’re through the front doors, the work inside is much the same no matter where you’re at. And most times, you have the opportunity to take a larger role on projects in smaller- and mid-sized agencies. All that glitters is not gold.
  • School doesn’t end at graduation. Keep asking questions and keep that curiosity peaked. Ask people in the industry what they read. Check out some blogs – or start your own. Advertising and marketing is constantly changing, and if you don’t keep up, you’ll get left behind.
  • Know your shit. I kind of figured this went without saying, but after a few recent interviews at the office, I feel the need to reiterate. When you go in for an interview, be prepared. There’s nothing that’s more of a turnoff in an interview than 1) not having a real knowledge of or interest in the agency and/or 2) not having a single question. For heaven’s sake humor me, if you don’t have any new questions, ask the same question you asked the last guy, just don’t sit there in silence without a single inquiry.
  • Keep on, keepin’ on. Last but not least, if you’re not having any luck right off the bat, don’t fret. It took me nine months to find my first job out of school. At times, I thought it was never going to happen. My mom even tried to talk me out of going into advertising for the sake of my own sanity. But it’s where I really wanted to be – and where I still want to be. Whatever you do, do something. Volunteer with a local non-profit, and offer to help with their marketing efforts. Or, start that blog I mentioned earlier. Keep refining your skills in any way you see fit – your initiative, perseverance and entrepreneurial spirit will be recognized.

And finally, great luck to all of you!

25 Responses to “How to Get a Job in Advertising”

  1. Hey Stephanie,

    Great post! I just finished school (the Account Planning program at MAS) and found the info really helpful, especially the links.

    Thanks,

    ~ Dennis
    @DennisDemori

    • 2 stephanieakelly

      Thanks, Dennis. I took a look at your blog the other day after our Twitter exchange. Love Rogue Planning…really, nice job and some great reads. And Meghan says your the king of Social Networking 😉

  2. That cartoon is so dead on. The business is hard to get into and hard to get something out of.

    • 4 stephanieakelly

      At time, yes. There are definitely good days and bad. Thanks for the comment!

  3. 5 Aina

    Thanks for the encouragement!
    And good tips.

    • 6 stephanieakelly

      No problem, Aina. It’s hard to break into advertising, but once you’re there, it’s hard to turn away 🙂 Shoot me an email if you have any questions.

  4. Great thoughts Stephanie, thanks for sharing!

    • 8 stephanieakelly

      You’re welcome, Andrew! If you’re looking for a job, great luck to you. And if you have any questions, feel free to shoot me an email.

  5. This just goes to show that Internet Marketing strategies are becomming more and more covert and it’s time to step up your tactics.

  6. 10 Jovan

    I’m having so much trouble finding a job in advertising, any suggestions on where to start. I am currently the director of marketing for an insurance agency, but I was an advertising major in college. Its been three years since I graduated and I am soooooo ready to break into the industry.

    Anyone have any advice?

  7. Great post however , I was wondering if you could write a litte more on this topic? I’d be very grateful if you could elaborate a little bit further. Bless you!

  8. Hey there just wanted to give you a quick heads up.
    The text in your article seem to be running off the screen in Internet explorer.
    I’m not sure if this is a format issue or something to do with internet browser compatibility but I thought I’d
    post to let you know. The layout look great though! Hope you get
    the problem resolved soon. Many thanks

  9. The US car rental market in the long run is expected to be more
    efficient with players moving towards the car sharing market
    in the densely populated areas such as Washington
    DC, New York and others. Here, Charlotte pointed out Old Pierre on
    “his bench”, as she called it. One style of table lamp for Moroccan
    home decor follows the shape of a pyramid but with a unique and interesting twist because
    this Moroccan lamp has wavy lines instead of a rigid structure.

  10. It’s the best time to make some plans for the future and it is time to be happy. I’ve read
    this post and if I could I wish to suggest you few interesting things or
    tips. Perhaps you could write next articles referring
    to this article. I wish to read even more things about it!

  11. You really make it appear so easy with your presentation however
    I in finding this matter to be really one thing that I believe I would by
    no means understand. It seems too complex and very extensive
    for me. I’m looking ahead for your subsequent put up, I will try to get the cling of it!

  12. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to say that I’ve truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. After all I’ll be
    subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write again soon!

  13. Hmm it seems like your website ate my first comment (it was
    extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I had written and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.

    I too am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to the whole thing. Do you have any suggestions for first-time blog writers? I’d definitely appreciate it.

  14. Hi there colleagues, good article and nice urging commented at this
    place, I am truly enjoying by these.

  15. I seldom leave a response, however i did some searching and wound up here How to Get a Job in Advertising | School of Thought.
    And I do have a couple of questions for you if it’s allright. Could it be just me or does it seem like some of the responses come across as if they are written by brain dead visitors? 😛 And, if you are writing at additional social sites, I’d like to follow everything fresh you have to
    post. Would you make a list of the complete urls of all your shared sites like
    your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

  16. Hi there, I check your blogs daily. Your writing style is witty, keep up the
    good work!

  17. I think that everything composed made a bunch of sense.

    But, what about this? what if you were to create a awesome headline?
    I ain’t saying your content is not good., however suppose you added a title that grabbed folk’s attention?

    I mean How to Get a Job in Advertising | School of Thought is
    a little plain. You should look at Yahoo’s home page and see how they create post headlines to get viewers interested. You might add a video or a related pic or two to grab readers excited about everything’ve got
    to say. In my opinion, it could make your website a little livelier.

  18. Hi, yup this post is truly fastidious and I have learned lot of things from it concerning blogging.
    thanks.

  19. Thank you, I have just been searching for info about this subject for ages and yours is the greatest I have found
    out till now. However, what about the bottom line?

    Are you certain in regards to the source?

  20. Very shortly this web site will be famous among all blog visitors,
    due to it’s fastidious articles or reviews


  1. 1 How to get a job in advertising | Insight + Ideas

Leave a Reply

