How I Killed My Television

08Feb09

About two weeks ago, I killed my tv. Not literally, of course. I simply canceled my cable subscription, and since I don’t have an antenna, I also don’t receive the local channels. For some, this may seem rather un-newsworthy. But for the self-proclaimed couch potato that I am, this was a really big deal. I had been considering it for a while, but there was always something that stopped me – I have to watch every Cubs game, the new season of Flight of the Conchords is starting, and so on.

But finally, I just decided that there’s never going to be a ‘good time’ and that I’d give a television void life a try. And heck, if it turned out that I was miserable, the cable company is but a phone call away.

To my surprise – and to the surprise of my closest friends and family – I love not having tv. Turns out, having all the options and channels was more of a burden. I always felt like I’d be missing something if the tv wasn’t on. And in reality, I’ve come to find out that the only thing I was missing was a meaningful and productive day. Go figure.

Now, in the interest of full disclosure, there are still a couple shows I seek out online (Lost, being the most important). But watching them is more of a break in the my day, rather than the focus, like it used to be.

Who knows if this will last. But for now, I can honestly say that I don’t miss it, and don’t see it coming back any time soon.

2 Responses to “How I Killed My Television”

  1. Nice move – I’ve thought about doing the same. And might just yet.

    Enjoy the new world:)

    • 2 stephanieakelly

      Thanks, Martin! The funny thing is that it’s a lot scarier in theory. I became so dependent on something that, all along, I didn’t like that much in the first place.


Leave a Reply

