Cheers!

01Jan09

25005

First and foremost, Happy New Year everyone! I hope you and yours had a safe, happy and healthy new year. Although I just started this blog a few short months ago, I wanted to take this opportunity to say ‘thank you’ to those who have stopped by for a look – and an extra ‘thanks!’ to those who have come back after the first look.

So today being January 1st and all, I thought we could talk about resolutions. Do you have one? I love the tradition of starting off the year on the right foot. Even though, to be honest, I rarely keep my resolution for the entire year, it’s a step in the right direction. New Year’s day is like the ultimate Monday morning, the quintessential clean slate, a get-out-of-jail-free card in a sense.

What is it about resolutions that doom them to fail? Alan Deutschman thinks he knows. In today’s New York Times, he explains that even though all of us have the ability to change, we rarely do. But don’t fret, not all hope is lost. He also includes four easy steps to a more resolute resolution (my comments added in italics).

  1. Start with big changes, not small ones. This seems counterintuitive to all the advice I usually hear about life-changing endeavors. Maybe my memory is failing me, but isn’t it usually ‘make small changes’ so as not to disrupt your life too much and discourage further progress? Either way, the past way hasn’t worked for me, so I’m willing to give this a try.
  2. Act like the person you are trying to become. Although I’ve never approached a resolution as a way to emulate an archetype, I can see how acting like your future self would be helpful.
  3. Reframe the situation. To me, this step is all about looking at the change in a different light. For someone attempting to eat better, it’s not about never having any of the ‘good stuff’ but rather treating your body better and living a longer, healthier life.
  4. Don’t do it alone. Obvious, but not always the easiest.

So, a huge GOOD LUCK to all of you who want 2009 to be a little different and a wholehearted cheers to a new year.

No Responses Yet to “Cheers!”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

